HomeIndiaGujarat Rajya Sabha Election Dr S Jaishankar To File Nomination Tomorrow

Gujarat Rajya Sabha Election Dr S Jaishankar To File Nomination Tomorrow

S. Jaishankar: Union Exterior Affairs Minister Dr. S. Jaishankar will file nomination for the Gujarat Rajya Sabha elections on Monday (July 10, 2023). Elections are to be held on a complete of 10 Rajya Sabha seats this month, which incorporates three seats in Gujarat. Jaishankar will file his nomination for certainly one of these seats tomorrow at 12 midday. His Rajya Sabha time period ends in August.

Other than Jaishankar, the tenure of Rajya Sabha MPs from Gujarat Dinesh Jemalbhai Anavadiya and Lokhandwala Jugal Singh can be ending on 18 August. Then again, the Congress has withdrawn its title from the Gujarat Rajya Sabha elections. The Congress stated it won’t take part within the elections this time because it doesn’t have many seats within the state meeting. In Gujarat, Congress President Manish Doshi advised that the celebration didn’t get good figures within the meeting elections held final 12 months, so this time it has been determined that the celebration won’t take part within the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections.

Rajya Sabha elections are to be held in these states
Elections are to be held on a complete of 10 Rajya Sabha seats in three states of the nation. The states the place elections are to be held embody Gujarat, Goa and West Bengal. Elections can be held for six Rajya Sabha seats in West Bengal, 1 in Goa and three in Gujarat. Vinay Tendulkar’s time period in Goa ends on July 28. Whereas, the tenure of Derek O’Brien, Dola Sen, Sushmita Dev, Sukhendu Shekhar Ray, Pradeep Bhattacharya and Shanta Chhetri will finish on August 18.

To seem within the Rajya Sabha elections, candidates can file nominations until July 13 and if somebody needs to withdraw his title, he may have time until July 17. There itself. The notification for the election was issued on July 6. After this, polling can be held on July 24 and counting of votes can even be finished on the identical day.

Who votes in Rajya Sabha elections
Members of state assemblies vote to elect Rajya Sabha members, however members of the Legislative Council can not take part in it. Additionally it is crucial for the candidate to have the consent of 10 members for submitting nomination. The voting system for Rajya Sabha elections is linked to the states. The variety of Rajya Sabha seats in a state for which elections are to be held, 1 is added to it and divided by the overall variety of meeting seats in that state. The quantity that comes after this, then 1 is added to it. The quantity that comes after this, the candidate will want that many votes to win.

Learn additionally:
Lok Sabha Election: Will this plan of BJP work in 2024? Occasion engaged on Pan India mission, trailer can be seen in NDA assembly


Most Popular